Yoga With Vesna Bliss by Harriet Jansen

Vesna Bliss

These past few winter months have left some or even most of us feeling tired and lifeless. The Vancouver rain makes one want to stay at home rather than go out. Additionally, one prefers to take the car or public transportation instead of walking. This lack of fresh air and movement creates stiffness and disables the flow of energy in our body. I had been feeling this way for a few weeks and knew I had to find some form of exercise to get me out of my current state of hibernation!

Therefore last weekend, in an attempt to boost my energy levels and increase my level of awareness, I attended a Kundalini Yoga class with Vesna Bliss. Fortunately it was a sunny day and in the spirit of adding exercise to my day whenever and wherever I can, I decided to walk the twenty minutes to where the class was being held rather than taking the bus. This walk alone helped me get into the mood of doing something good for my body and brought joy to my mind.

The room was filled with light and with the support of Vesna’s relaxing tunes I was in the right mindset to start this one hour journey to awaken vitality, increasing awareness and reducing fatigue. The class started with a brief mantra to loosen up our face and throat and getting us centered. After that, she took us through a set of poses that aimed at letting our natural energy flow steadily throughout our bodies by intense breathing and concentration. A few poses were aimed at strengthening our core muscles as well as increasing our flexibility and balance.

The session ended with what seemed like a half hour meditation although it was only eleven minutes. This was my first meditation experience and it was great. In order to help us keep our minds clear, we sang a three word mantra “Sat Kar Tar” which means “Doer of the Truth” and should invite love into your heart.

This practice made me feel relaxed, light and ready to embrace the day. It truly awoke both my body and mind and I can only recommend it to all of you out there who need to be kicked out of their state of hibernation!

Harriet and FabianAbout Harriet Jansen:

As a student of International Business in Germany, I started volunteering as an Intern at Healthy Crowdfunder Corp. During my exchange semester at BCIT here in Vancouver I was acquainted with the concept of crowdfunding and with a little bit of luck introduced to Tony Arias who was kind enough to offer me this exciting opportunity. Being an advocate for healthy living as well as highly interested in finance and marketing, I could not have found a better fit.

1 Comment

Filed under Health Tips in mind body and spirit

One response to “Yoga With Vesna Bliss by Harriet Jansen

  1. Thanks to all who Liked Us and subscribed to our blog. Check us out on FB http://www.facebook.com/healthy.crowdfunder and share with your friends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

